Let Them Eat Cake


Gluten Free Bread

Quick allergy update: I am no longer really sensitive to dairy! This makes life a lot easier, as I’m sure you can empathise. I’ll still be posting dairy free recipes though! Never fear.

In other news: I have cut down on the amount of gluten I’m consuming. It makes sense, both my partner doesn’t eat it so it’s not been a huge effort for me to cut it out, and also because I think anyone would automatically feel better by cutting out food that is so over-processed, in the way gluten is. However, cutting it out has made me crave bread like I have never craved bread before.

My dad bought me an awesome book, which I would highly recommend, called “Wheat, Gluten and Dairy Free.” It’s quite easy to guess what type of recipes it would contain, however the title doesn’t quite convey how amazing the recipes are! I am tempted by everything on every page – they even have recipes for quiches, pizzas and tempura which are all a gluten nightmare and really hard to reproduce.

I tried the “fruit soda bread” recipe. I’d come across a soda bread recipe before and thought it may be easier to make it gluten free because the rise comes from baking soda and not so much the gluten as happens in an average white loaf. I don’t know if this is entirely correct! However I’d hadn’t possessed the skills to create a successful gluten free soda bread recipe. This perhaps was due to my fear of using xantham gum.

I’ve been baking gluten free for nearly three years now, and have known about xantham gum for nearly as long, and I can’t quite rationalise why I’ve been so reluctant to use it. However, this recipe called for it, and I have to say, it gives the finished product the chewy, doughy texture that gluten would normally produce. So xantham gum all the way.

I also changed the recipe a bit, because I’m stupidly fussy about mixing sweet and savoury things. I know it’s really childish and means I have an underdeveloped palette. I just don’t understand, or my mouth doesn’t understand, how things can be both savoury or sweet. So while the recipe is for a FRUIT soda bread, I took the fruit out and made it a regular soda bread.

EDIT: Just double checked the recipe list and it’s also vegan! This is fantastic!

Ingredients:

  • 450g/1lb plain gluten free flour (I used Dove’s Farm)
  • 1 1/2 tsp gluten free baking powder
  • 2tsp xantham gum
  • 225ml/ 8 fl.oz soy milk
  • 2 tbsp sunflower seeds/ other seeds for decoration.

It couldn’t be easier or quicker to make this recipe. Sift the flour, baking power and xantham gum into a bowl. In a small bowl or jug, combine the oil, milk and syrup. Add wet ingredients to dry until it forms a dough.

Shape the dough, cut a cross across the middle, brush with milk and sprinkle with seeds and put on a oiled baking tray. Bake for 25-30 mins at 200degreesC until it sounds hollow when tapped. That’s it. Gluten free bread in under an hour.

My verdict? Well, it tasted really sweet. This is probably because the original recipe had sweet intentions being a fruit loaf and all…. next time I’ll either add water instead of syrup, or make them into little rolls and eat like a scone.

Texture-wise though, the xantham gum made such a different. It certainly was up there with the most realistic of gluten free breads I’ve tasted. Especially warm out of the oven it was really doughy. Top tip though, definitely eat it within a day. It doesn’t keep too well.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

